Board of Directors | Alpine Health
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Board of Directors

Alpine Health is led by a Board of Directors, who contribute a diverse range of skills, experience, and interests for ensuring the efficient, effective and accountable governance of the organisation.

Through strategic leadership and a direction focussed on defined outcomes, the Board of Directors comes together:

  • To govern and improve the well-being of the organisation,
  • To protect and improve the health of the community; and
  • To improve access to, and delivery of, health services.

Directors are appointed by the Governor in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister for Health. 


Board of Directors - Committees

  • Executive Committee
  • Finance and Planning Committee
  • Quality Care Committee
  • Credentials and Privileging Committee
  • Medical Consultative Committee
  • Community and Health Advisory Groups
  • Alliance Advisory Committee

View the Alpine Health Committee and Working Party Structure


How to become a Board Director

Information on how to become a Board Director and what the Board does can be found on the Department of Health and Human Services website:


Current Board of Directors

Christine Walker (Board Chair)

Appointed July 2011

Diploma in HR Management, Diploma in Business Management, Cert IV in OH&S

Christine is the former Corporate Services Manager for the Victorian Hydro Power Stations and held that position for 27 years. She had served as a Board member on the Bogong Outdoor Education Centre for over 10 years and was Chair for 8 years.

Christine commenced her appointment with the Alpine Health Board in 2010 and is currently on the Board of the KMMCEL Bendigo Community Bank.

Rhonda Serpell (Deputy Chair)

Appointed July 2014

Adv Dip of Hort Mgt, Major HR Management, Dip Company Directorship

Rhonda is a self-employed farmer and has a deep passion for the environment.  She has a background as a CFA Peer co-ordinator for 9 years.  Rhonda is the Chair of the Quality Care Committee.

Sarah Gamble

Appointed July 2019

Master of Commerce (Human Resources)

Sarah is an Executive Human Resources Professional, who specialises in Acquisitions, Change Management & Culture for a Global IT Consultancy firm.

Donovan Jacka

Appointed October 2018

Grad Diploma of Human Resource Management and Industrial Relations, Grad Certificate in Mediation and Conflict Resolution

Donovan Jacka is a Director and self-employed farmer and has been a senior manager within the health care industry for the last 15 years. Donovan is the Chair of the Finance and Planning Committee.

Phillip Bardsley-Smith

Appointed November 2019

Master of Pharmacy, Bachelor of Science

Philip has been responsible for the successful management of multiple community pharmacies and is currently a Pharmacy Proprietor in Mt Beauty.


David Leggo

Appointed July 2020

Diploma in Aviation, ASIC Regulatory Guide 146 qualified

David is an experienced Director and Chairman of large Superannuation Boards, Companies and Investment Committees.  He has additional long term experience as an Independent Chairman in Property Fund Unitholder meetings.

Kirsten Seeto

Appointed July 2020

Bachelor of Science,  MBA Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Kirsten is an experienced Digital Consultant and Committee member.  Her experience includes digital transformation projects in corporate blue-chip and start-up companies.


Back to top