2020 Scholarship Award Recipients | Alpine Health
Skip to content Skip to navigation

2020 Scholarship Award Recipients

14 December 2020

The 2020 Mark Robinson Scholarship Award and the 2020 Otto Schmalz Scholarship Award recipients were announced today at the 2020 Alpine Health AGM, Monday 14th December at Alpine Health Myrtleford.

2020 Mark Robinson Scholarship Award

jade lane

Photo: Jade Lane

The Mark Robinson Scholarship for Rural Health encourages local people to take up studies in health related disciplines at either undergraduate or postgraduate levels and return to practice in the Alpine Shire.

The 2020 Mark Robinson Scholarship Award was awarded to Jade Lane.  She will undertake studies in a Masters of Social Work.  Jade was the Mark Robinson Scholarship recipient in 2019, however was unable at the time to commence her studies.  Alpine Health and the Robinson family committed to carry forward for Jane the scholarship as the 2020 recipient.

2020 Otto Schmalz Scholarship Award 

Andrea Herrin receiving her award from CEO and Board Chair

Photo: Left to Right - Nick Shaw - CEO Alpine Health, Andrea Herrin - Maternity and Newborn Coordinator , Christine Walker - Board Chair

The Otto R Schmalz Memorial Scholarship is an annual Education and Study Award for Alpine Health staff members. It has been established to commemorate the great contribution of Mr Otto Schmalz to Alpine Health and his commitment to welfare and development of Alpine Health staff.

The 2020 Otto Schmalz Scholarship (on behalf of the Schmalz family) was awarded to Andrea Herrin Andrea will commence a Graduate Diploma of Child Family and Community Nursing at La Trobe University.  Andrea’s is employed to the Maternity and Newborn Coordinator role with Alpine Health and her studies will greatly complement her work in this area and provide for new thinking and approaches to our maternity and newborn services.

Back to top